Opening Day for the Phillies

Image

PHILADELPHIA– Yesterday, April 9, 2012 was opening day for the Philadelphia Phillies. The stadium was packed and the crowd was booming. I took in all the promotions, such as when I handed the man my ticket and walked through the gate I was then handed a 2011 NL East championship flag. There are apparel and merchandise stores about every ten steps and all the food and beer you could want. But that is not what grabbed my attention. What grabbed my attention was the giant screen in Left Field and seeing my university in the background of the head shots of the batters that were up. This happened during the top and the bottom of the 5th inning. My first thought was wow look that’s my school. My second thought was that it was definitely a good strategy because how many young kids attend phillies games with their parents. SJU was exposing themselves to over 45,000 people.

Leave a Reply

